Writer’s Bleak

I don’t have writer’s block.  I know what I need to write, I think I know how to write it, and at some point soon I’ll sit down and do it.

But I’m not writing.  I haven’t written this week.

I’m not going to get political on here, because this is a themed blog and the theme is keeping me on track with my writing, but I’m certainly not the only person who is having a hard time of it politically recently.  Fill in the details you’d imagine were true and those are the details that are probably true about my general political opinions.

The US election result was announced nine days into National Novel Writing Month.  At that point writing saved me because I could hide in it.  I wrote faster this November than I have in any previous November.  I wrote more in this November than any previous November.  While I was writing I could pretend that the rest of the world wasn’t happening.

And now, having wandered back into the rest of the world, I can’t do that any more.  This has been a long and draining week, in part because it’s my last week in work before I go on holiday, and the combination of work stress and worry about politics has meant that I’ve woken up early every morning for the last seven days.  I’ve slept badly and not been able to properly relax, and the thought of working on anything creative has felt more like a chore than a joy.  I’m sure it will change but right now the world is pressing on my hard.

One side note here: since the election I’ve seen a few people who should know better say things that suggest that adverse political conditions will at least lead to a blossoming of counterculture.  This is bullshit, at least from my point of view.  Adverse political conditions give a TARGET to the creativity of a counterculture but they don’t create the counterculture.  Never Mind The Bollocks and Rocket To Russia both came out when Callaghan was in 10 Downing Street and Jimmy Carter was in the White House.  Woodstock happened with Wilson on one side of the Atlantic and LBJ on the other.  You get great art in oppressive times.  You also get great art in permissive times.  Humans make great art all the time.

Back to my self-indulgent moaning.  I won’t always feel too drained to write.  For one thing, I have a write-in with my nano group this Saturday so I’m going to force creativity on myself.  For another, I always write more in hotels than at home, and I’m going to spend a good portion of the next two weeks in places other than home.  So this is a temporary lull.

I just wish I had the energy to go somewhere other than the real world for a bit.

Leave a Reply

